
Who insures tattoo and piercing studios?
Tattoo and piercing studios is a risk most standard carriers decline on sight. The markets below say in their own published appetite or program pages that they write it; each line links to that page with the date it was read.
4 markets publicly write tattoo and piercing studios: Professional Program Insurance Brokerage (PPIB), division of Specialty Program Group, One80 Intermediaries (Body Art program), XINSURANCE (Evolution Insurance Brokers, LC), Marine Agency Corp.. 3 program administrators, 1 wholesaler. 1 through surplus lines.
By Sam Alishahi, independent insurance broker
Who says they write it
From each market's own appetite, product or program page (or a trade article quoting it), read on the date shown. Appetites change: the linked page controls. A market listed here isn't necessarily one this agency is appointed with; a licensed broker reaches most of them directly or through a wholesaler.
| Market | What they say they write | Where | Paper | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Professional Program Insurance Brokerage (PPIB), division of Specialty Program Group Program administrator | Tattoo and body piercing insurance for studios and individual artists; guest artists/piercers with one year experience; permanent makeup; mobile/convention work considered; consent and aftercare forms required. “Tattoo insurance provides coverage for the unique risks and liabilities associated with the tattoo and piercing industry.” | nationwide ("Coverages For Tattoo Insurance Offered Nationwide") | not stated | ppibcorp.com · read 2026-10-28 |
| One80 Intermediaries (Body Art program) Program administrator | Body art program targeting tattoo parlors, body piercing facilities including jewelry sales, and permanent make-up; general liability plus miscellaneous professional liability for tattoo and body piercing artists. Site describes One80 as a wholesale brokerage and program manager. “Miscellaneous professional liability for tattoo and body piercing artists” | not stated ("throughout the US and Canada") | not stated | one80.com · read 2026-10-28 |
| XINSURANCE (Evolution Insurance Brokers, LC) Wholesaler | Tattoo shop insurance for shops, parlors, booth renters and independent artists, including body piercing/jewelry services, mobile and convention artists; professional liability for errors/negligence/blowouts can be added. “Tattoo Shop Insurance can cover a wide variety of tattoo shop/parlor services as well as body piercing/jewelry services.” | not stated (commercial auto "Available in most states") | Surplus lines | xinsurance.com · read 2026-10-28 |
| Marine Agency Corp. Program administrator | Tattoo & body piercing insurance program (since 1990): studio liability with surface and genital piercings, temporary guest artists and independent contractors covered automatically; off-site shows and fairs; cosmetic tattoo/microblading program; workers' comp for tattoo shops. “Marine Delivers the Best Available, Most Comprehensive Tattoo and Piercing Insurance Program.” | lower 48 states and DC (no Alaska or Hawaii); property not available in Florida | not stated | marineagency.com · read 2026-10-28 |
Send it once. It goes to the markets that write it.
A few minutes to request the quote; it reaches the markets that take tattoo and piercing studios, and the answers come back by email.
Get a reminder before your renewal.
Tell me when your policy renews and I’ll email you about six weeks before, when it’s worth comparing. One email, no calls.