Glass-walled house with a pool
Who insures it · 2 named markets · read 2026-10-28

Who insures Tattoo removal?

Tattoo removal is a risk most standard carriers decline on sight. The markets below say in their own published appetite or program pages that they write it; each line links to that page with the date it was read.

2 markets publicly write Tattoo removal: Professional Program Insurance Brokerage (PPIB), XINSURANCE. 1 program administrator, 1 wholesaler. 1 through surplus lines.

By Sam Alishahi, independent insurance broker

The markets

Who says they write it

From each market's own appetite, product or program page (or a trade article quoting it), read on the date shown. Appetites change: the linked page controls. A market listed here isn't necessarily one this agency is appointed with; a licensed broker reaches most of them directly or through a wholesaler.

MarketWhat they say they writeWherePaperSource
Professional Program Insurance Brokerage (PPIB)
Program administrator
Laser program page has a Tattoo Removal section and its FAQ lists tattoo removal among covered laser services alongside hair removal, vein treatments, skin rejuvenation and body contouring.
“such as hair removal, tattoo removal, vein treatments, skin rejuvenation, body contouring,”
not statednot statedppibcorp.com · read 2026-10-28
XINSURANCE
Wholesaler
Tattoo shop insurance program whose eligible businesses list includes tattoo removal services; premium factors list tattooing, body piercing, permanent makeup and tattoo removal.
“Tattoo Removal Services”
not stated (EIB licensed in all 50 states per its home page)Surplus linesxinsurance.com · read 2026-10-28

Fewer than 2 verifiable markets after a real effort. Checked and found no tattoo-removal wording on: Marine Agency (tattoo, cosmetic tattoo and both laser/medispa pages), HPSO and NSO aesthetics pages (list Tattooing and laser treatments only), ASCP (laser hair removal and advanced modality pages), Insurance Canopy esthetician page, Admiral medical spas, Kinsale allied health, Beazley misc medical, Next Insurance class list, Berxi and CRC Group listings. PPIB tattoo studio pages do not mention removal; only its laser page does. WebSearch budget was exhausted for this session, so candidate disc

How Tattoo removal gets placed

Standard markets first where any will look at it; when they won't, the placement goes through surplus lines, where a licensed surplus lines broker places it with an eligible non-admitted insurer and files the state's surplus lines tax and stamping forms. In California, risks on the Department of Insurance export list can go to surplus lines without the usual diligent search of admitted carriers. Surplus lines policies aren't backed by a state guaranty fund, so the insurer's financial rating matters more.

What an underwriter will want before quoting: a full description of the operation, years in business and the owners' experience, revenue or payroll, loss runs (five years where available, currently valued), the contracts or venue requirements that set the limits, and photos or safety plans where the hazard is physical.

I'm licensed in 49 states and Washington, DC and your request stays with my agency, not passed to another agent. In Florida, where my licenses are still being issued, a partner agency in your state helps in the meantime.

Check who's likely to insure yours

Hard to place?

Send it once. It goes to the markets that write it.

A few minutes to request the quote; it reaches the markets that take Tattoo removal, and the answers come back by email.

Not shopping yet?

Get a reminder before your renewal.

Tell me when your policy renews and I’ll email you about six weeks before, when it’s worth comparing. One email, no calls.