Modern two-story house with a pool
Insurer certificate on state form PS35016 (not called SR-22) · Minnesota · Updated 2026-10-18

SR-22 insurance in Minnesota

What Minnesota requires after a DUI, a lapse or driving uninsured, how long the filing lasts, what it costs the state, whether a non-owner filing works, and which companies in Minnesota write the policies that carry it, from the state's own pages and the insurance company directory.

Minnesota uses the Insurer certificate on state form PS35016 (not called SR-22) filing. Who needs it: A conviction for driving uninsured, or repeat no-insurance suspensions (2+ in 5 years). A first no-insurance suspension or failure to show proof usually needs only proof of insurance. How long: 1 calendar year of insurance. The insurer files it electronically with the state once the policy is bound; a non-standard auto policy with the filing is often cheaper than people expect. 0 companies write personal auto in Minnesota; the ones used to filings are tagged below.

By Sam Alishahi, independent insurance broker · Every state

The rule

What Minnesota requires

From Minnesota Department of Public Safety, Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS); sources at the bottom.

FilingInsurer certificate on state form PS35016 (not called SR-22)
Who needs itA conviction for driving uninsured, or repeat no-insurance suspensions (2+ in 5 years). A first no-insurance suspension or failure to show proof usually needs only proof of insurance.
How long1 calendar year of insurance.
State feesNo separate certificate filing fee; insurer charges vary. Reinstatement: $30 for a no-insurance revocation, $20 for a suspension.
Non-owner filingAccepted: be named as a driver on an existing policy or buy a non-owner's or operator's policy.
How it's filedAn authorized insurer representative (not the agent) signs form PS35016; you upload it online, fax it, mail it or bring it to a DVS office.
If the policy cancelsNot stated by the state. The state may require the certificate to be noncancelable for up to one year.
Minimum liability limits30/60/10 (bodily injury per person / per accident / property damage), plus no-fault (PIP) and uninsured/underinsured motorist 25/50 each.
Who handles itMinnesota Department of Public Safety, Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS)

Your withdrawal notice says which type of insurance proof clears it; many cases need only verifiable insurance information, not the certificate.

Who writes it

Companies that write personal auto in Minnesota

The regulator's company list for this state isn't machine-readable; the insurer groups below come from the NAIC's market share report.

Largest personal auto groups in Minnesota (2025)

#Insurer groupShare
1Progressive Group24.6%
2State Farm Group23.8%
3American Family Ins Group8.5%
4Auto Owners Group5.2%
5Farmers Ins Group5.1%
6Allstate Ins Group4.5%
7United Serv Automobile Assn Group4.0%
8Berkshire Hathaway Group3.8%
9Liberty Mut Group3.0%
10North Star Co Group2.1%

How to get it today

  1. Send the quote request with the reason for the filing (DUI, lapse, uninsured accident) and the date the state gave you; that goes to the companies above that take it.
  2. Bind the policy; the insurer sends the Insurer certificate on state form PS35016 (not called SR-22) to the state electronically the same day in most cases.
  3. Keep the policy paid for the whole period: a cancellation is reported to the state and usually restarts the suspension.

I'm licensed in 48 states and Washington, DC and your request stays with my agency, not passed to another agent. In Florida and Washington, where my licenses are still being issued, a partner agency in your state helps in the meantime.

Questions people ask

How long do I need an Insurer certificate on state form PS35016 (not called SR-22) in Minnesota?

1 calendar year of insurance.

Who needs an Insurer certificate on state form PS35016 (not called SR-22) in Minnesota?

A conviction for driving uninsured, or repeat no-insurance suspensions (2+ in 5 years). A first no-insurance suspension or failure to show proof usually needs only proof of insurance.

Can I get a non-owner Insurer certificate on state form PS35016 (not called SR-22) in Minnesota?

Accepted: be named as a driver on an existing policy or buy a non-owner's or operator's policy.

What happens if my policy cancels during the Insurer certificate on state form PS35016 (not called SR-22) period?

Not stated by the state. The state may require the certificate to be noncancelable for up to one year.

Sources

Facts are from the state's official pages on the date shown and can change; the state's page controls. Company lists come from the insurance company directory.

Need the filing this week?

Send it once. It gets filed.

A few minutes to request the quote; the companies that file Insurer certificate on state form PS35016 (not called SR-22) answer by email, and the filing goes to the state when you bind.

Not shopping yet?

Get a reminder before your renewal.

Tell me when your policy renews and I’ll email you about six weeks before, when it’s worth comparing. One email, no calls.